All Because of Tininess

I recently met genomics expert Dr Leah Cuthbertson, whose research focuses on the diversity (or lack of diversity) of bacteria and fungi in the lungs of people with CF. She showed me round the lab and I got the chance to hear how by cracking open the bacteria/fungi and gene sequencing them, she can look at exactly what’s in there and how these tiny things evolve and cause so much bother, as well as how having a group of different bacteria/fungi affect each other – like a microscopic community.

20190220_160654
Telling a story with tiny pictures – I’m working on a way to tell the story about Leah’s work, using the bottles again. I hope to fill them with miniature drawings and suspend a collection of them so they feel like they are floating in midair.

 

Leave a comment